Tony Varnadore Captures Florida State Championship With Playoff Win Over Darrell Britt

6 June 2010 - Fernandina Beach, FL - Course owner Aaron Bean welcomed The Florida State Championships return to the PPA schedule for the first time since 1981 at the Fernandina Beach Putt-Putt. After Saturday's tournament, practice and the dinner provided by Aaron and local sponsor Sonny's, players were eager to challenge the course again.

Tony Varnadore

First round action saw 2006 National Champion Brad Lebo take the lead with a 25. Reigning National Champion Tony Varnadore and 2007 Senior National Champion Frank Warren were in close pursuit at 26. Four others followed at 27 – PPA Hall of Famer Daryl Freeman, yesterday's runner up Michael Hitt, Tony Jackson and Orlando's Tim Jones.

Second round play saw Darrell Britt fire a 25 to catch Tony V for second, one stroke behind Lebo's 36 hole total of 52. These three opened a gap on the rest of the field as 4th place fell back to Tim Jones at 55.

With third round scores of 26 Lebo and Varnadore stayed 1-2 at 78 and 79. Britt followed in 3rd at 80. Jeff Carr used a 25 to jump into 4th place at 82.

As the hot and humid weather started to take a toll on players, Varnadore grabbed the lead on hole 6. But a miss on hole 15 and a bogey on hole 16 allowed both Britt and Lebo to catch back up. Varnadore showing the talent that won him both the National Championship and Southern Open bounced back with an ace on hole 17 to retake the lead. An ace on the final hole by the never quit Britt forced a playoff at 108 for the title. Lebo settled for 3rd at 109. Carr finished 4th at 110 and Daryl Freeman rounded out the top 5 at 111.

In the playoff Varnadore grabbed the early lead and hung on for his 2nd career State title and 3rd win on the young season.

David Myers

In the APA division scores bounced around like kites flying on the nearby beach. Bo Kurash opened play with an excellent 25 to lead Ray 'Pepper' Guthrie by one. Yesterday's winner and course owner Aaron Bean followed at 28.

A second round 29 vaulted Bean to the lead at 57. Kurash was in second at 58. Chris Alley used a 2nd round low score of 27 to jump into 3rd at 59. David Myers shot 28 to take over 4th place at 60.

The low round of the day, a 24 by David Myers moved him to the top of the leader board at 84. Alley used his round of 26 to stay close at 85. Bean fell back to 3rd at 88, with Kurash at 89.

The final round saw Myers hold off all challenges and win his first State title by 3 strokes with a 72 hole score of 115. Randal Smith used a closing 28 to tie Alley for second at 118. Bean held on for 4th and Guthrie rounded out the top 5.

The SPT thanks Aaron and Abby Bean for the wonderful weekend of hospitality and are looking forward to returning next year.

Article provided by the Southern Putting Tour

Professional Division of the 2010 Florida State Championship
(Fernandina Beach, FL - Course # 2 - 6 June 2010)

Player Name1234TotalEarnedMoney
1Tony Varnadore2627262910840.00 $  200.00
2Darrell Britt2825272810834.00 $  175.00
3Brad Lebo2527263110933.00 $  150.00
4Jeff Carr2829252811032.00 $  125.00
5Daryl Freeman2729282711131.00 $  110.00
6Andy Coradini2829292611230.00 $  100.00
7Greg Newport2929272911428.50 $    85.00
Michael Hitt2730292811428.50 $    85.00
9Randy Reeves2929302711525.50 $    48.00
Bill Kirby2829283011525.50 $    48.00
Frank Warren2631292911525.50 $    48.00
Tim Jones2728322811525.50 $    48.00
13Rick Rybaczek3226302911722.50  
Rick Baird2827332911722.50  
15Robert Johnson3128312811821.00  
16Tony Jackson2729283511920.00  
17Ricky Schults3227303112019.00  
18Stan Seethoff3229322812118.00  
19Lewis Burton3334302912616.50  
David McCollister2930343312616.50  
21Jonathan Reid3029333813015.00  
22Bob Jackson3830323213214.00  

 Amateur Division of the 2010 Florida State Championship
(Fernandina Beach, FL - Course # 2 - 6
June 2010)

Player Name1234TotalEarnedMoney
1David Myers3228243111540.00 $    40.00
2Randal Smith3231272811833.50 $    40.00
Chris Alley3227263311833.50 $    40.00
4Aaron Bean2829313111932.00 $    40.00
5Ray Guthrie2639272912131.00 $    40.00
6Bo Kurash2533313412330.00 $    25.00
7Jim Last2932303712829.00 $    25.00
8Keith Waters3233333112928.00  
9Joey Sweat3134333613427.00  
10Michael Lockhart3335353213526.00  



Homepage | Contact the PPA | Links | Putt-Putt Golf Courses of America | PPA & APA Members
National Tour | History of the PPA (1960's, 1970's, 1980's, 1990's, 2000's, 2010's, TV Series)
Southern Putting Tour, Virginia, Great Lakes Tour, Indiana Putting Tour, Southwest Putting Tour
Clayton Cup and Hancock Cup News and History
| Local Tournaments
Shop the Web Through
| Putt-Putt World Magazines