Estep Wins 1982 National
Medal-Play Championship

Fayetteville, NC - A 20 year old printing press operator, Jeff Estep of Dayton, Ohio became the first man in history to successfully defend the Professional Putters Association National Championship.

Estep, with scores of 28-24-28-29-27-27-25-26 – 214, finished 74 under par for eight trips over the Fayetteville No. 2 installation for a three-stroke victory over 1979 National Medal-Play Champion Eddie Coy, Louisville, Ky.

The victory was worth $3,000 to Estep, who increased his career earnings to an estimated $30,000 as the Ohioan collected his third major PPA crown.

Coy, the diminutive putter who staged a miraculous comeback after an opening round 35, won $2,000 in an effort that saw Coy suffer a triple-bogey 5 at the treacherous ninth hole in the final round.

Steve Lyon, Winston-Salem, NC, who held a five-stroke lead after Saturday’s initial four rounds, share third with Mark Coup of Columbus, Ohio, both at 218 and winning $1,350 each.

Pre-tournament favorite Ed Haggerty of Charlotte, NC, who holds every major PPA title with the exception of this prestigious event shared fifth with former National Juniors Champion Alan Quinnelly of Chamblee, Ga., and 1981 PPA Rookie of the Year Dean Dwiggins of Winston-Salem, all at 219 and winning $900 each.

Columbus, Ohio product John Napoli, one of the two men to author perfect competitive games in this sport was alone in eight at 220.

In the Amateur Putters Association division, Lewis Burton of Atlanta, Ga., set a blistering pace that had him three strokes ahead of the entire field after four rounds and went on to claim a nine-stroke victory over David Shankle of Farmington Hills, Mi., for the prestigious National Amateur crown.

Freddie Karem of Louisville, Ky., was third at 228. Chuck Dibbs of Virginia Beach, Va., was fourth at 229.

Frederick Captures National Match-Play Championship

Ron Frederick overcame a 20-minute delay and knocked in a 26-foot hole-in-one on the first hole of sudden death to out duel fellow Ohioan Jeff Estep for the $113,000 Professional Putters Association National Match Play Championship.

The victory was worth $22,000 to Frederick, a 22 year-old Ohio State University senior who donated $2,000 to the children of the late Ray Browning, the 1975 and 1980 National Medal-Play Champion who died in an automobile accident at the outset of the current season.

"You win the National Championship and you are No. 1," said Frederick, Toledo, Ohio, who defeated Columbus, Ohio pro Steve Guyton 7 and 6 in the semifinals and pre-tournament favorite Ed Haggerty of Charlotte, NC, 4 and 3 in the quarterfinals.

Estep, who defeated Haggerty 2-up for the 1981 National Match-Play title, earned $10,000 for his runner-up finish.

In the Amateur Putters Association division, former professional Paul Johns of Monroe, Mich., defeated Peter Neumann of Dayton, Ohio 6 and 5 for the Match-Play crown.

Frederick Named PPA Player of the Year

"What can you say…Ron Frederick, the Putter of the Year," said PPA Vice-President Neil Buie in announcing the selection of the 1982 National Match-Play Champion as the game’s top player this season.

Frederick parlayed a strong performance in Fayetteville, NC, to out duel 1981 and 1980 Player of the Year Ed Haggerty, Charlotte, NC, David McCaslin of Memphis, Tenn., and Jeff Estep of Dayton, Ohio for the honor.

Beck Receives PPA Sportsmanship Trophy

There is more to professional putting than holes-in-one and tough deuce putts.

It’s treating a golf course and a fellow player with respect and shaking an opponent’s hand after defeat and carrying victory with a touch of humility.

For more than 20 years, Wesley Beck of Atlanta, Ga., has exemplified what the model pro is in this 22 year-old sport which is why he was selected to receive the PPA "Sportsmanship" Award.

Haggerty Claims PPA Stroke Average Honor

For the past two years, Ed Haggerty of Charlotte, NC, has been bringing the "Tracy Moore" Stroke Average Trophy to the site of the National Championship.

A 21 year-old NC State University senior, Haggerty won the low stroke average honor in 1980 and 1981. With a 27.63 stroke average for 1982, Haggerty earned a permanent claim on the trophy this year. Winner of four events this season, both back-to-back in High Point, NC and Burlington, NC, Haggerty finished far ahead of his closest pursuer, Ron Frederick.

McCaslin Named Rookie of the Year

Former National Juniors Champion David McCaslin of Memphis, Tenn., wasted little time in establishing himself as a star of the future by winning four PPA tour events this season and edging Greg Ward of Cleveland, Tenn., for PPA Rookie of the Year honors.

McCarthy APA Player of the Year

Perhaps, the heir-apparent to Female Putter of the Decade Evelyn Florin, Terry McCarthy was selected the Amateur Putters Association Player of the Year for 1982.

Despite an opening round 34 in the APA National Medal-Play Championship, McCarthy, of North Olmsted, Ohio, closed with a final round 24 for a 232 total and seventh place finish.

That 232 total would have been worth $215.00 in the pro division. And incidentally, the closing 24 was low round in the APA division final 18 holes and was matched by only two professionals John Crawford and David Barnett.

Hancock Receives APA Sportsmanship Award

"Every tournament I’ve ever been to, he always comes up afterward and says thank you," said Neil Buie, vice president of the PPA,, in announcing that Wayne Hancock of High Point, NC, was the recipient of the 1982 APA Sportsmanship Award.

Professional Division

Amateur Division



Homepage | Contact the PPA | Links | Putt-Putt Golf Courses of America | PPA & APA Members
National Tour | History of the PPA (1960's, 1970's, 1980's, 1990's, 2000's, 2010's, TV Series)
Southern Putting Tour, Virginia, Great Lakes Tour, Indiana Putting Tour, Southwest Putting Tour
Clayton Cup and Hancock Cup News and History
| Local Tournaments
Shop the Web Through
| Putt-Putt World Magazines